Technology Accelerator Fund Projects

Class of 2014 Fall   |   Class of 2014 Spring   |   Class of 2013   |   Class of 2012   |   Class of 2011
TAF Award Recipients Class of 2014 Fall

TAF Class of 2014 Fall
Five SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $250,000 to advance innovations for the treatment of heart disease, breast cancer, and spinal cord disorders.  > View the Class of 2014 Fall Application and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Jason Armstrong

Smaller, Lighter Electronic and Medical Devices
University at Buffalo
Dr. Jason Armstrong
Jna4@buffalo.edu

 

Dr. Douglas Conklin

Repurposing Existing Drug for a More Effective Treatment of Breast Cancer
University at Albany
Dr. Douglas Conklin
dconklin@albany.edu

 

Dr. Thomas Floyd

Disposable Spinal Cord Blood Flow Device
Stony Brook University
Dr. Thomas Floyd
Thomas.floyd@stonybrookmedicine.edu

 

Dr. Mahmood Hussain

Molecule Enhances Effect of Cholesterol-lowering Drugs
Downstate Medical Center
Dr. M. Mahmood Hussain
Mahmood.hussain@downstate.edu

 

Dr. Wayne E. Jones

Nanotech Process Makes Inexpensive Dyes Heat-Resistant
Binghamton University
Dr. Wayne E. Jones
wjones@binghamton.edu

 

TAF Award Recipients Class of 2014

TAF Class of 2014 Spring
Five promising SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $250,000. These innovations span groundbreaking advancements in medical imaging, pharmaceutical, fine chemical, petrochemical and refining industries. > View the Class of 2014 Spring Application and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Steven Diver

Scavengers Provide Quick Recovery of Precious Metals
University at Buffalo
Dr. Steven Diver
driver@buffalo.edu

 

Dr. Gary Nieman

Lifesaving Treatment for Abdominal Trauma and Sepsis
Upstate Medical University
Dr. Gary Nieman
niemang@upstate.edu

 

Dr. Susan Sharfstein

Fake Eyes for Glaucoma Screening
College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering
Dr. Susan Sharfstein
ssharfstein@albany.edu

 

Dr. Balaji Sitharaman

Low-Dose MRI Contrast Agent for Renal Imaging
Stony Brook University
Dr. Balaji Sitharaman
balaji.sitharaman@stonybrook.edu

 

Dr. Leslie Ying

Super-Fast MRI
University at Buffalo
Dr. Leslie Ying
leiying@buffalo.edu

 

TAF Award Recipients Class of 2012

TAF Class of 2013 Spring
Five promising SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $250,000. These innovations span groundbreaking advancements in nanotechnology, novel cancer therapeutics and diagnostics, the production of biodiesel, and research tool metrology.  > View the Class of 2013 Spring Applications and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Jason Armstrong

Smaller, Lighter Electronics and Medical Devices
University at Buffalo
Dr. Jason Armstrong
jna4@buffalo.edu




Dr. Shadi Shaedipour-Sandvik

Quality Control for Semiconductor Devices
College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering
Dr. Shadi Shahedipour-Sandvik 
sshahedipour-sandvik@albany.edu

 

 

Early Detection of Breast Cancer
Downstate Medical Center
Dr. Henri Tiedge
henri.tiedge@downstate.edu

 

 

Dr. Sabine Brouxhon

New Therapy for Breast and Other Cancers
Stony Brook University
Dr. Sabine Brouxhon
sabine.brouxhon@stonybrook.edu

 

 

Dr, Stewart N. Loh Dr. Arthurt Stipanovic

Biomass to Bioethanol
Upstate Medical University - Dr. Stewart N. Loh and
College of Environmental Science and Forestry - Dr. Arthur Stipanovic
lohs@upstate.edu 
astipano@esf.edu

 

TAF Award Recipients Class of 2012


TAF Class of 2012

Six promising SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $300,000. These innovations span groundbreaking advancements in multispectral imaging, energy-cost reduction, novel antibiotics, assistance for the disabled, weight-loss and suicide prevention. > View the Class of 2012 Application and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Paul Agris

New Antibiotics for Drug-Resistant Infections
University at Albany, The RNA Institute
Dr. Paul Agris
pagris@albany.edu

 

 

 

Dr. Alexander Cartwright

True Color Detection for Advanced Manufacturing
University at Buffalo
Dr. Alexander Cartwright
anc@buffalo.edu

 

 

Personal Heating System for Weight Loss
Binghamton University
Dr. Kenneth McLeod 
kmcleod@binghamton.edu

 

 

Dr. Anurag Purwar

A Mobility Assist Sit to Stand Device for Improved Quality of Life
Stony Brook University
Dr. Anurag Purwar
anurag.purwar@stonybrook.edu

> Read an article about Dr. Purwar's patented invention: Biodex Medical Systems To Manufacture Mobility Device Patented At Stony Brook University

 

Professor Sarbajit Banajeree

Smart Windows for the Improved Energy Efficiency of Buildings
University at Buffalo
Professor Sarbajit Banjeree
sb244@buffalo.edu

 

 

 

Dr. Andrew Kaufman Wireless Suicide Detection System
Upstate Medical University
Dr. Andrew Kaufman
kaufmana@upstate.edu
TAF Award Recipients Class of 2012

TAF Class of 2011
Five promising SUNY-developed technology received a total of $500,000.  These innovations span groundbreaking advancements in energy, diagnostics, therapeutics, engineering and biomimetics. > View the Class of 2011 Application and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Ronald Miles

New Microphone Design to Improve Hearing Aids
Binghamton University
Dr. Ronald Miles 
miles@binghamton.edu

 

A Screening Test for Early Detection of Ovarian Cancer
University at Buffalo
Dr. Thomas Szyperski
szypersk@acsu.buffalo.edu
Dr. Scott Tenenbaum

Targeting a Cell’s RNA to Create Novel Diagnostic Tools
College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering
Dr. Scott Tenenbaum
stenenbaum@albany.edu 

Read the Press Release: Governor Cuomo Announces Technology Developed at SUNY College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering Attracts New Investment 

 

Dr. Edward Quadros

A New Test to Identify Birth Defect Risk and Developmental Disorders
Downstate Medical Center
Dr. Edward Quadros 
Edward.Quadros@downstate.edu

 

Dr. Lei Zuo

Harvesting Vehicle Vibration into Usable Energy
Stony Brook University
Dr. Lei Zuo
Lei.Zuo@stonybrook.edu

 

 

If you have any questions about the SUNY Technology Accelerator Fund, please email taf@rfsuny.org